FICM10 Essay Prize - Tim Evans Award

Winners Announced

To coincide with FICM10 the Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine wished to recognise the contribution made to ICM as a specialty by the first Vice Dean, Professor Tim Evans. Tim was a highly able and respected clinician who frequently sought and openly valued the opinions of others. The Faculty wanted to reflect this in the form of an essay competition.

52 essays were submitted, thank you to all who sent in an essay. We are pleased to announce the winners below. Please click on the names to read the full essays.

The overall winner who receives the Tim Evans Award is Sarah Shuker.

Theme 1 winner: Tobias Mill
How do we put the patient and their relatives at the focus of everything we do whilst looking after our staff?

Theme 2 winner: Omar Salim
What contributions can new workforce groups make to patient care in the future?

Theme 3 winner: Sarah Shuker
How would you argue for a post in intensive care medicine being an essential component of every Foundation rotation in the UK?

Theme 4 winner: Bennett Choy
What should a future critical care service be doing to provide a safe, sustainable service to patients?