Fellowship by Election

The award of our Fellowship by Election is the highest accolade bestowed by the Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine.

It is considered for practitioners across the world who have made sustained and significant contributions to the practice of Intensive Care Medicine. This may be either to the UK or their own country’s health services.

This activity has to be at an internationally active level and normally sustained for at least ten years. Evidence through the presented CV should document this activity and the outcome of such work. 

Whilst there are no limits to the number of awards at this level it is unusual to award more than two or three a year.  Awardees are listed below.


NamePresentation Year

Chithambaram Veerappan

Peter Hutton2015
Paul Lawler2015
Joseph Stoddart2015
Ronald Bradley2014
Jon Cohen2014
John Temple2014
Alasdair Short2013
Neil Soni2013
Peter Nightingale2013
Judith Hulf2012
Sheila Willatts2012
Iain Ledingham2012