Clinical Excellence Awards 2020 – applying for FICM support

5 November 2019

Clinical Excellence Awards (CEAs) are intended to recognise and reward exceptional contribution over and above what is normally expected in a post. The awards are made to medically or dentally qualified NHS consultants for a fixed term and may be renewed following review.

In England, national CEA awards are assessed by the Advisory Committee on Clinical Excellence Awards (ACCEA) administered by the Department of Health (England). The Welsh Government has arranged that national applications for CEAs will also be assessed by the ACCEA. In Northern Ireland national level applications have been suspended in recent years.

Guidance for local clinical excellence awards (LCEA) can be found on the NHS employers’ website.


The ACCEA have slightly delayed the launch of the 2020 applications. They are now due to open on Thursday 13 March and are expected to follow a similar format to previous years. The ACCEA closing date has subsequently been modfied to 5pm on Thursday 07 May 2020.

Application guidance will be made available on their website in line with the opening date. ACCEA will accept applications for new national awards and from those due to renew their award in 2020.

Useful links:

FICM support for awards

The FICM is registered as a nominating body. The FICM CEA committee comprises senior ICM consultants, plus a lay member. We would not normally provide support for local awards. For those considering applying at the bronze level you must consider carefully the implications of leaving any local award scheme. If you decide to apply nationally and wish to be considered by the FICM or your specialty association, you will need to comply with the timetable of the sponsoring organisation.

If you are likely to move employer or retire in the next 18 months you should ask the ACCEA for their advice.

The ranking lists and citations that our organisations supply are considered to be important supplements to the evidence contained in the Curriculum Vitae Questionnaire (CVQ). We encourage you apply to both your specialist association and the FICM for a place on their ranking list. If you wish both organisations to consider your application, you must send your CVQ to both organisations as we do not exchange CVQ information.

At this stage, we will accept applications on the ACCEA forms used previously as any changes are expected to be minimal.

If you would like to be considered for FICM support, please email your completed ACCEA application forms (including the name and contact details of the person you would like to write your citation*) to by: 

  •  5pm on Friday 07 February 2020 for Bronze, Silver, Gold and Platinum awards.

*NB: The citation writer cannot be from your hospital and cannot be the same person who is writing your citation for another organisation eg the ICS, RCoA, specialist society etc.

Please note that we must have newly completed forms for renewal applications by the same date. Late applications will not be scored. For enquiries contact:

As with previous years, the responsibility for the actual online submission of the application to ACCEA will rest firmly with the applicant.

The deadline is: 5pm on Thursday 07 May 2020.