ICM Curriculum 2021

ICM Curriculum: Supporting Excellence

The new ICM curriculum was implemented on 04 August 2021. To read the news item regarding its approval by the GMC click here.

In this section you'll find updates on key documents, progress, dates, changes and how implementation will affect training. We're constantly updating this page as and when we're able to provide further information, so please check back regularly.

ICM Curriculum: Supporting Excellence

Why a new curriculum?

  • The GMC is updating all curricula and the current 2010 ICM curriculum is due for a review. 
  • More information about the GMC's standards for the development and design of postgraduate medical curricula can be found here.
  • More information about the GMC's framework for essential generic capabilities needed for safe, effective and high quality medical care in the UK can be found here.


Key related documents

These documents are available to view and download. They give an in depth look at aspects of the new curriculum. 

  1. ICM Curriculum Assessment STRATEGY - The focus of the assessment strategy is to ensure that intensivists in training are able to demonstrate to the GMC that they can provide the public with safe and effective care that meets population needs throughout the nations of the United Kingdom. There is an emphasis on excellence in training and teaching throughout, with use of assessment to facilitate learning. Assessment should be carried out in a fair and consistent manner with equal access to the assessments available to all trainees.​

  2. ICM Curriculum Assessment GUIDANCE This guidance describes the overarching programme of assessment for the 2021 Curriculum and introduces the key components of the new training programme in ICM. The programme of assessment defines both formative and summative elements of the new approach to assessment.

Guidance for the Special Skills Year for the new curriculum

Checklist for ARCP panels

Slide set explaining the move to the new curriculum in more depth.

Chart of the capability levels expected for each HiLLO in Stages 1, 2 & 3 of the curriculum.

This is a new form in the LLP that needs to be completed and sent to an Educational Supervisor to review and sign off when an StR has acquired sufficient evidence to demonstrate they have met the requirements at the requisite capability level for any of the 14 HiLLOs in Stages 1, 2 and 3 of ICM training. 

  • Supervised Learning Event (SLE) Assessment Forms

All of the new SLE forms are being incorporated in the Lifelong Learning Platform (LLP), with StR and Trainer required to complete different sections of the forms. The examples in the bulleted list below show all of the information that will be captured in these forms for reference. All SLE forms should be completed and approved via the LLP wherever possible.


The ICM High Level Learning Outcomes (HiLLOs) & how they were developed


To view the Frequently Asked Questions click here